Program History





 Photo Gallery


 All-Met Lacrosse


 Georgetown Prep

 Junior Varsity







History: Georgetown Prep Lacrosse  - Since 1987



Georgetown Prep began playing lacrosse in 1987 as part of one of Marylandís best conferences, the Interstate Athlete Conference, or IAC. In 1988, the IAC consisted of Georgetown Prep, Landon School, St. Albanís School, Episcopal High School, St. Stephenís and St. Agnes School, The Bullis School, and Sidwell Friends School (Sidwell left the IAC to join the MAC in 1999).


The 1988 Georgetown Prep Lacrosse Team

The 1988 Prep Lacrosse Team breaks the huddle


Head Coach Kevin Giblin agreed to join the program in 1988.  Since then the Georgetown Prep lacrosse program has won over 400 games.  Leading lacrosse and sports news outlets magazines have repeatedly characterized Georgetown Prep as "one of the premier lacrosse programs in the Nation."


With only one exception, Georgetown Prep has been ranked among the top 25 teams in the Nation since 1998.


US Lacrosse Magazine (April 2009) reported that Georgetown Prep was ranked second in the nation with 20 alumni currently on Division 1 rosters of Top 20 ranked teams. In the Spring of 2010, there were 33 players on Division 1 Rosters.  Over 200 former Prep players have gone on to play at the college level. See our Alumni section for more information on our former players.


Since the Washington Post began reporting such statistics, Georgetown Prep lacrosse program has produced six Washington Post All-Met players of the year and over 75 Washington Post All-Met selections.


ALL MET Selections


Year Player of the Year Coach of the Year First Team Second Team Honorable Mention
1988         Josh Buckman
1989     Scott Schoeb    
1990     Sacha Fraiture    
1991         Brendan Fry (D)
1992     Brendan Fry (D), Sacha Fraiture (G) Greg Tomasso (M)  
1993   Kevin Giblin Matt Hahn (A), Greg Tomasso (M)    
1994     Matt Hahn (M)   John Paleologos (D)
1995 John Paleologos (D)       Javier Aguirre (G), John Windsor (D)
1996     Chris Cronin (M), Alex DuFour (A)    
1997     Scott Doyle    
1998       Parker Williams (D), CJ Kemp (G) Mike Egan (A), Mike Shuler (M)
1999     Mike Egan (A), CJ Kemp (G) John Neal (A) Joe Fleury (A), Mike Shuler (M), Bill Gerrish (D)
2000     Bill Gerrish (D)   Phil Steele (M)
2001     Patrick Keeley (D) Adam Gjerulff (A) Tommy Boylan (M), Chris Shipps (M), Ed Brown (D)
2002     Tommy Boylan (M) Bret Thompson (M) David Wright (G)
2003 John Bennett (LSM) Kevin Giblin Nick Veith (D) Trevor Casey (A) Joey Kemp (G), Danny Glading (M), Chris Lehman (A)
2004     Nick Veith (D), Danny Glading (M)   Joey Kemp (G), Andrew Brancaccio (M) , Matt Hickman (A), Max Van Arsdale (A)
2005 Danny Glading (M)       Jeremy Hirsch (D), Jake Raff (D)
2006 Andrew Brancaccio (M)   Jeremy Hirsch (D), Bray Malphus (LSM) Ryan Shuler (A), Brian Tabb (B), Chris Casey (G) Fran Gormley (A)
2007 Ryan Schuler (A)   Bray Malphus (LSM), Brian Tabb (M) Kevin Ridgeway (D), Stephen Coyle (A) Derek Styer (D), Will Amling (M), Patrick Maloney (M)
2008     Brian Casey (A), Mike Flanagan (D) Henry Van Wagenberg (M) John Kemp (G), Pat Cotter (M)
2009 John Kemp (G)   Brian Casey (A) Pat Cotter (M), Billy Gribbin (A) Greg Tabb (D), Sean Taylor (M)
2010     Robert Posniewski (D) Greg Perraut (D) Bobby Gribbin (M), Taylor Morgan (D), Michael Pirone (A)
2011 Bobby Gribbin (M) Jeffrey Hale (D) Cory Dobyns (A) Henry Williams (D), Joel Blockowicz (M)
2012     Liam Giblin (A) Chris Hampton (M) Kyle Shanahan (M)
2013     Brendan Collins  Colin Giblin, Ryan Norton Charlie Horning
2014 Charlie Horning (A)    Will Railey (G) Brendan Collins (M) Jack Olson (M) Matt Billings (D),
Townsend Brown (A)

Year National Ranking (1)
1993 23
1999 11
2001 11
2002 9
2003 1
2004 11
2005 25
2006 1
2007 4
2008 19
2009 8
2010 7
2011 10
2014 5
(1)  Inside Lacrosse or LaxPower



Stories of the Seasons



















  All Material copyright 2008 - 2015 Prep Lacrosse Boosters
Questions, comments, concerns - contact webmaster